Unleash the Paraguayan in you (chipá cheese rolls)

chipá, take two

Chipá is a traditional bread from the north of Argentina and Paraguay. I´ve been meaning to make this for the blog for ages, but never got around to buying all that cheese. Basically, these are cheese rolls which use tapioca flour instead of regular wheat flour, which gives them a very smooth, chewy texture.

chipá 2

They are truly delicious and quite easy to make, freeze perfectly either raw or cooked, and are definitely crowd-pleasers. And it´s just made up of tapioca flour, butter, eggs and all sorts of cheese, what´s not to like?

chipá, take two

In case you can´t find tapioca flour/starch where you live, you can buy it at Amazon for sure. And I can even give you a satisfaction guarantee, since I have never met anyone who doesn´t like them.

Traditional cheese rolls with tapioca (chipá)

Yields about 40 chipá

Tapioca flour or tapioca starch, 500g

4 eggs

Butter, 200g (about 1 3/4 sticks)

2 teaspoons salt (this will depend on the amount of salt the cheese you use has)

pepper

parmesan cheese, 250 grams (about 1/2 a pound)

mozarella or other soft cheese, 250 grams

manchego or other hard and somewhat spicy cheese, 250 grams

1. Put the tapioca in a big bowl (it is quite volatile so it can make a mess), along with cold butter (chopped roughly), the mozzarella or any semi-soft cheese (also roughly cut to make the process easier), the grated parmesan cheese, and the eggs.

2. Start mixing the ingredients by hand until the dough is somewhat formed. (Another method I´ve used is to first process the butter and the flour till it resembles a fine crumble and then add the soft cheese, the parmesan and the eggs until it forms a ball.)

3. Add the hard cheese cut into small squares to the dough and keep kneading until you have a homogeneous dough (with the exception of the hard cheese squares, which aren´t supposed to blend in).

4. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or so. This step can be skipped if in a hurry and they´ll still come out great. Or you can keep it in the fridge and finish the next day.

5. Take small pieces of dough and form little balls with it. (At this point, you can also freeze some of them raw and bake them later.)

6. Cook in a 400°F oven for around 10 mins, checking every 5 mins or so. The result should be crunchy outside and softer inside. (Be careful not too overcook them, otherwise they´ll get too dry. They should be quite soft and chewy on the inside.)

22 Comments

Filed under Argentina, bread, food

22 responses to “Unleash the Paraguayan in you (chipá cheese rolls)

  1. You’ve sold me on them, I’m definitely making these! I even have tapioca flour and just haven’t known what to do with it.

  2. Cheese rolls? You mean balls of lovely melted cheese? Oh I think I love you. I think these will be made at my next party.

  3. Wow, tapioca flour! Cheese rolls! These look like wonderful fun. See if I can’t give these a go. Thanks.

  4. Sil Bs As

    Funny… I`m waiting for my dough to rest when I see your post… my recipe takes only 50grams butter and no mozzarella… in an hour or so I`ll tell you about mines!

  5. Brilynn- Yay! Hopefully it´ll work out better than the dulce de leche venture so you don´t hate me.

    Cheryl- Yes, I do mean butter and cheese and all things good with the world. Do let me know how they turn out if you make them.

    Tanna- Thank YOU, I made the garlic bread you posted about and loved it.

    Sil- I´m sure it´ll be very good either way, the only chipás which are a bit blah are the ones you buy for 1 peso at the supermarket.

  6. I’m delighted you liked the garlic bread.
    I tried for the tapioca flour but it was a no go. Have to try the Asian market in the opposite direction.

  7. They are similar to Brazilian pão de queijo, Marce – I wish I could have some right now!

  8. All you had to do was to say “cheese” and I was all over that one!!
    Wish I could have some this very second!

  9. I’m drooling here!!!

  10. Ohhh I can guarantee I’d love these.. cheesy bread.. there is nothing better.. *dreamy*

    xoxo

  11. Pingback: true nature » pao de queijo

  12. thank you so much for this recipe. i made it for my nephew’s birthday – the adults love it more than the kids but it was ALL good. thank you for sharing.

  13. Pingback: da*xiang » Chipá Cheese Rolls

  14. Pingback: …Pão de queijo? « Eating The World

  15. Pingback: FoodieView Blog » Recipe Roundup: Gluten-Free Baking

  16. Wow, these look so yummy… I can’t wait to taste them!!! Thanks so much for the recipe. We are proud to have it included in this week’s FoodieView Recipe Roundup!

  17. Pingback: La chipa: BlogRecetas

  18. Pingback: La chipa: BlogAlimentos

  19. Mmm, your chipá are oozing with cheesy goodness! I will definitely try out your recipe the next time I have a craving for these. Thanks for the tip about freezing the uncooked dough too.

  20. Pingback: La chipa | Blog Recetas

  21. Mpishi

    Do these need to be refrigerated, or may they be kept safely at room temperature?

Leave a comment