Clouds, weirdos, and sunshine

I had a funny thing going on with Seattle even before I set foot in the city. Everyone I met either online or in person seem to come from there, it was as if suddenly all the interesting people had decided to move there, notwithstanding the grayness, which I decided was not a big deal… that is, until I actually experienced it myself!

IMG_3616

It turns out it wasn´t any sort of myth, trust me, in Seattle it rains, or drizzles, quite a bit, but that´s not the worst part, the bad part was the winter-like weather in the middle of spring, and all that gray. BUT I loved the city, I truly did, despite all I´ve just said, which means all those people who move there actually know what they are doing.

IMG_3561

IMG_3591

Of course, my situation was quite special because I was staying with my dear friend Jenny and her family, so I actually got to see a bit of real life there and not just touristy stuff, which is just how I like it. Plus, I had talked to Traca of Seattle Tall Poppy online before going, and she kindly organized all sorts of fun activities for me, including breakfast with Peabody and a food lovers dinner at Kris Dew´s house with Lara of Cook and Eat, Molly of Orangette, Mohini of Mango Power Girl, food journalist Rebekah Denn, pastry chef Dana Cree, and food lovers Dan and Phil. Needless to say, we did a potluck dinner so we had quite a spread, not to mention the view, but truly, the best thing was the company, including Kris´s adorable cat, Rocky.

But the one thing that sucks with meetings where you meet that many people is the feeling of not being able to talk deeply with anyone at all, especially since, believe it or not, I can get quite shy in such situations. But, anyways, Jenny and I brought a tasty, yet dead simple dish, to the meeting: Martha Stewart´s chana masala, but more on that at the end of the post.

IMG_3568

I have to say that one of the things I loved the most about Seattle is its wonderfully crazy irreverent attitude, as can be evidenced by people you meet walking down the street, or in bizarre monuments like a troll eating a car in Fremont, or a tiny replica of the statue of liberty, among many, and I mean many, other things.

Like smart “political” toys:

IMG_3580

Or fake macarons made of soap:

soap macarons

So, trying to sum up all of my experiences in Seattle after being back in Buenos Aires for over a month now, I think it´d come down to people and nature, because the place is truly gorgeous and has the peculiar advantage of remaining close to nature while being a big city, and I´ve always enjoyed hanging out with weirdos like myself, and Seattle gives me plenty to choose from.

Which means that I have no idea when I´ll be back, but I´ll be back, so save a few days of sun for me, will ya?

chana masala

Chana masala (from Martha Stewart´s site)

Serves 4

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
2 small onions, finely diced (1 1/2 cups)
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans of chickpeas (about 4 cups)
1 1/2 cups crushed canned tomatoes
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 teaspoon coarse salt
1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro

1. Heat oil in a large skillet over high heat. Add cumin seeds, and cook until they begin to pop, about 30 seconds. Add onions, and cook until they begin to brown. Add garlic, and cook 1 minute more.

2. Add tomatoes, chickpeas, jalapeno, garam masala, and salt. Reduce heat to low, and simmer 10 minutes. Stir in cilantro, and serve.

12 Comments

Filed under food, rambling, savory, travel, vegetables

12 responses to “Clouds, weirdos, and sunshine

  1. Yes, we do have our weirdos in Seattle, I am one of them. 😉

  2. That’s so cool you got to meet so many nice people. Ditto that shy thing, happens to me too.

  3. Great post about your days in Seattle! The people outshined the grey!

  4. It was great to read your observations of my city!

    Of course, I’m still in Buenos Aires, so we still have time to meet for coffee sometime. 🙂

  5. Seattle sounds lovely & very interesting. It’s one of the places I’ve always wanted to visit (as well as Vancouver & San Fransisco)… I think there’s something about the pacific ocean that appeals to me; maybe that it’s so far away 🙂
    In any case, thanks for the pictures & the delicious-looking recipe.

  6. i’m laughing and tearing up at the same time = you BETTER come back! and we will save up some sunshine! (i sat by our pool all afternoon today! it’s been in the high 70s here, woohoo, FINALLY!) and we’ll never run out of wierdos… hehehe.

    i miss you!! reading this feels, like our time in BA, like a nice dream i had once… the kind i like to think about over and over again. the nice thing is that you are really there, 😉

    as i’m typing this, i’m also uploading some of our silly faces pictures! (finally!! i know!) check my flickr and you can see them, ;))

  7. jj

    Looks like there is definitely plenty there to make up for the dreary days! Great pics!

  8. Hey girl…it was so lovely to have you here in Seattle! Yes, the sunny days are breathtakingly beautiful…and the rest? Well, now you know why there are so many writers in this city! 🙂

  9. It was a pleasure to meet you…too bad you did not have more time :-p but next time you’re around, give us a ring! Well done on that Chana Masala by the way 🙂 and I love that EMP shot!!

  10. stilllifeinbuenosaires

    I’ve always wanted to go to Seattle. Sounds excellent.

    Can you find garam masala in Buenos Aires? I can only seem to find curry in the health food stores.

  11. Things are very open and intensely clear explanation of issues. was truly information. Your website is very beneficial.
    http://www.jamtangan-murah.net

Leave a Reply

