Oops, I did it again and lemon poppy seed muffins

And just like that, I´m back!!!

Well, technically, I´ve been back for two weeks already, but my poor neglected blog hasn´t heard from me in ages, and I had promised to fill you guys in regarding the trip and everything.

mini cake

The problem is, I have been working pretty much non-stop since I´ve been back, so I haven´t had much time to reflect on the trip and process it all up in writing. Of course, it was amazing in many ways: I got to meet “virtual” people personally, I got to see a dear friend of mine again, I got to explore cities I felt I knew from watching tv or movies but actually didn´t, and got surprised with some cities I only had a faint idea about.

But more on that later, I promise (ok, I know I haven´t been good with promises lately, but this time it´s for real, there´s no way the trip is going to go unrecorded.)

With Sugar High Friday just around the corner and with Helene hosting, there´s no way I was going to miss participating. Plus, and this is a big plus, I finally got a microplane zester on the trip, so the citrus theme was right up my alley, all the recipes I seem to get to these days are the ones with some sort of zest in them or with something requiring the use of my new kitchen toys.

mini bundt cake

I actually made two things lately that could qualify for SHF: lemon poppy seed muffins and an orange pound cake covered in ganache. And even though it could seem a bit predictable, I´m going to choose the muffins, because they were tasty enough to overlook the “not another lemon-poppy seed combo” aspect of it all.

And to add to the predictability, the recipe is Dorie Greenspan´s, but hey, look at the gorgeous mini-cake molds I got in NY!

lemon poppy seed muffins

Oh, and just in case you haven´t noticed, I finally got a new camera! A Canon Rebel XT I´m still figuring out how to use. And yeah, I´m totally overdoing the exclamation marks today, but I´m just so excited with all my new toys… and I haven´t even started showing off, people, so brace yourselves! haha

Lemon poppy seed muffins

(by Dorie Greenspan´s Baking from my home to yours)

2/3 cup sugar
grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sour cream
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 tablespoons poppy seeds

Icing
1 cup confectioners sugar
2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400F. Butter or spray the 12 molds in a regular-size muffin pan or fit the molds with paper muffin cups.

In a large bowl, rub the sugar and lemon zest together with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and the fragrance of lemon strong. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the sour cream, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice and melted butter together until well blended. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t worry about being thorough – a few lumps are better than over mixing the batter. Stir in the poppy seeds. Divide the batter evenly among the muffins cups.

Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, or until the tops are golden and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.

For the icing:
Put the confectioners sugar in a small bowl and add a bit of the lemon juice. Stir with a spoon to moisten the sugar, then add more lemon juice slowly to get the icing to drizzle over the muffins. You can make lines or just cover the whole thing, which is what I usually do.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Oops, I did it again and lemon poppy seed muffins

  1. deb

    Woo-hoo on the camera and those adorable little cake pans. WANT. (Am not allowed to buy any more bakeware, for at least… a couple weeks.) Welcome back!

  2. Yeah for the new toys and super yeah for the camera! You are going to love it! Miss you here!!
    Thank you for the entry! I love it!

  3. Congratulations on your new toys! You can’t beat a bit of kitchen retail therapy can you? I bought my new camera a couple of months ago now and let me tell you, it will change everything!! It’s so much more fun. I think those molds are absolutely adorable too.

  4. I am so loving those mini molds…so great.
    Glad you had a nice time…it was so great to meet you!

  5. Oh gosh Marce that’s the camera I’ve been dreaming about! Love the cake pans and the poppy seed muffins!! I’m always big on the !! I guess I’m pretty excitable.

  6. Thanks everyone for the comments. I am indeed loving those pans, and the new camera has turned me into a bit of a freak, can´t stop taking pictures of things, and people… poor people, I don´t think it´s very nice to be around me when I´m with my new camera.

Leave a Reply

