Dark and handsome

It´s not that I´m feeling uninspired in general at all. Daydreaming about new apartments and my trip has been my favorite pass-time lately. But it might be that food and I are trying to find some middle ground (like still loving each other but going easy on sweets and stuff like that,) and when that happens, I don´t want to be thinking or writing about that particular chocolate cake that made me swoon last month but I´d better not recall while on a “diet” and PMSing.

But I hate not writing here for that long, and that chocolate cake was too good not to pass along. So here it is:

Chocolate-beer cake

It uses stout beer and unsweetened cocoa, and it´s covered with a velvety ganache on top. And I don´t even like beer in general, but here it compliments the chocolate beautifully because it creates a subtle contrast to the sweetness.

Chocolate-beer cake

And since it´s most likely winter where you are right now instead of summer like in Buenos Aires, I urge you to make it today, it´s that good, and bathing suits are far, far away.

Chocolate-beer cake

PS: I´ve just updated and reorganized the Recipe Index you can find above the header, so drop by to get some fresh, or not so fresh, ideas.

Chocolate Stout Cake (Recipe as adapted by Deb at Smitten Kitchen from Bon Appétit, September 2002, recipe originally from the Barrington Brewery in Great Barrington, MA)

You can use a regular bundt pan or a flutted tart pan like myself.

1 cup stout beer (such as Guinness)
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder (preferably Dutch-process)
2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1½ teaspoons baking soda
¾ teaspoon salt
2 large eggs

2/3 cup sour cream*
6 ounces good semisweet chocolate chips/or chocolate chunks
6 tablespoons heavy cream
¾ teaspoon instant coffee granules

Cake prep:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter or spray a bundt/tart/cake pan. Bring 1 cup stout and 1 cup butter to simmer in heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add cocoa powder and whisk until mixture is smooth. Cool slightly.

Whisk flour, sugar, baking soda, and ¾ teaspoon salt in large bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat eggs and sour cream in another large bowl to blend. Add stout-chocolate mixture to egg mixture and beat just to combine. Add flour mixture and beat briefly on slow speed. Using rubber spatula, fold batter until completely combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 35 minutes. Transfer cake to rack; cool 10 minutes. Turn cake out onto rack and cool completely.

Ganache:
For the ganache, melt the chocolate, heavy cream, and coffee in the top of a double boiler over simmering water until smooth and warm, stirring occasionally. Drizzle over the top of cooled cake.

11 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

11 responses to “Dark and handsome

  1. It’s recipes like these that make me wish I still lived in a place where I’d be old enough to buy alcohol…
    If I did, then I’d definitely take your advice and make this right now. But since I don’t, it’ll have to wait until the weekend! =)
    This cake looks so good, I’m glad you conquered your fear of thinking about it for long enough to blog about it!

  2. Everyone knows chocolate cake doesn’t have calories! That one looks delicious!

  3. I agree with Bril – no calories in choc cakes. And this one looks so calorie – less I am sure it goes into the negative mark LOL! Looks incredible!

  4. Oh wow, oh wow. Look how moist that is. I’ve got my cold glass of milk ready, hand over my slice.

  5. Oh my goodness that looks good. Wow.
    Though on a day like today, I think I’ll opt for helado. 🙂

  6. Oh my gosh.. that looks like one amazing piece of cake!

  7. This is my all time favorite chocolate cake! It stays moist for days….

  8. It looks delicious, Marce – haven’t had chocolate cake in months!

  9. I saw the picture, started drooling, reminisced fondly on a guinness cake that I made from SmittenKitchen’s recommendation a while back, and then…oh, wait, same recipe!! 😀 this cake is AMAZING. Anybody reading the comments section: make this cake!!

    Your photo makes it super appetizing. Mine was kind of a gloppy mess but I agree that it has such a wonderful flavor and texture

  10. oh….chocolate cake!

    and my birthday JUST passed by too! rats!

    This looks so delicious, but truthfully, I love that pretty plate it sits on too. I’m a sucker for fancy floral-y china.

  11. I am drooling! Looks awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

