My very own magic mushrooms

Yule log

Phew! That was close! I´m barely managing to get my Yule log (also known as Buche de Noel in French and Brazo Gitano in Spanish) done in time for posting… in fact, at this point, I haven´t even tried it, I just know it looks pretty, I´ll tell you if it tastes good later tonight.

I´m delighted I got to make the recipe because it´s a great example of what the Daring Bakers are all about. I mean, there was no other way I would be piping meringue to make mushrooms… oh yeah, those mushrooms you see there are literally handmade, and I love them, in fact, they might be my favorite part out of the whole challenge, even though they do require a bit of extra patience. But I just can´t get over their cuteness, so they are worth the meringue-sticky-Marce they created.

Yule log

Yule log

For the filling, instead of using the same buttercream used for the frosting, I halved the frosting recipe and went with a simple combination of whipped cream and fresh cherries for the filling because yep, it´s summer around here la la la la la la 😛 But I´m a bit worried about how the cherry flavor will work with the coffee in the buttercream because the coffee flavor was more pronounced than what I had originally thought… hopefully, it´ll mellow out in combination with the other elements.

Yule log

So all in all, I think the recipe isn´t too complicated at all, and it´s one of those things that are bound to impress a few people if you bring it to a dinner party. And of course, if you decide to go lazy and don´t want to tackle the whole thing, just do the mushrooms! They might not be magic in a trip-inducing sort of way, but they sure look pretty!

Yule log

For the full recipe, visit Ivonne´s blog (our other host and Daring Baker mom, Lis, should have her post up soon), and for hundreds of other takes on the Yule log, check out the Daring Bakers blogroll, you are bound to be impressed.

Yule log

35 Comments

Filed under Daring bakers, food, sweet

35 responses to “My very own magic mushrooms

  1. Your mushrooms, and the whole log are beautiful!! Those cherries look DELICIOUS! 🙂

  2. culinography

    What a beautiful yule log!! I’m sure it tastes as good as it looks! Happy holidays!

  3. A gorgeous log at home in it’s natural setting! Adorable mushrooms (yr remark made me remember a meringue baking session resulting in a very sticky niece with long long blond hair…).

  4. I’m sooo jealous of those cherries!! The log looks great too!

  5. Georgous log — love the cherries! Wish we had some of those in frigid Washington, DC 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  6. Gorgeous! The mushrooms are freakingly real looking! I love them too….
    Cherries and coffee, now that’s got to be good! True Daring Baker spirit my friend!!

  7. Hi,

    I totally agree that those mushrooms look so real!

    Beautiful log!

    Congrats for making such a gorgeous bûche de Noël.

    Feel free to read about my yule log here.

    Julius from Occasional Baker

  8. Oh, Marce. How nice of you to make us jealous with you showing off by using cherries. Nice job and your shrooms are impressive! My favorite part of the challenge was also the meringue. Now I’m addicted to them!

  9. Unreal Marce, they are so real looking and beautiful that they seem unreal! The log & the mushrooms are so wonderful!!
    Phew! I’m sure glad you didn’t miss this one.

  10. I love your magic mushrooms too. I was scared about the Meringues mushrooms so I made the Marizpan mushrooms. 😉

    Love your “tronco de navidad”.

    Feliz Navidad!

  11. oh, the cherries are beautiful, you did a great job.

    Happy Holidays!

  12. æis

    Wow, that Yule Log looks very realistic. I thought those mushrooms were real mushrooms you got off the field or some place to stick it in. Good job!

  13. justopia

    This looks so awesome! What a great job! I am inspired to try it myself now.

  14. I adore cherries. Your mushrooms are fantastic! Merry Christmas.

  15. cherries and whipped cream is a great idea-

    It looks beautiful in the summer light-
    And I know waht you mean abou the last minute rush…!

    Merry Christmas

  16. Your presentation is absolutely fabulous!!! The cherries are the pièce de résistance. Makes me think serving cherries with my cake could be so nice. Merry Christmas!

  17. oh marce!! this is so incredible – far more detailed and beautiful than i imagined. merry christmas to you, 😉 i’m sitting here in jackson with a huge roaring fire behind me, dinner cooking… just came back from playing in the snow building snowmen, hehe. xoxo

  18. Very nice log! Your mushrooms look totally real.

  19. sure, the mushrooms are really beautiful! great loo log! Happy Holidays!

  20. The addition of the cherries is wonderful. I love the look. Merry Christmas!

  21. Wow – I love love love your mushrooms they look perfect! Almost would mistake them for real mushrooms!

  22. Your log looks absolutely perfect. Well done!

  23. ‘kay not only do we need a yahoo date to figure out our get together date, but we need a yahoo date so you can teach me how to make perfect meringue mushrooms! I love them! Almost as much as I love you! =)

    I miss you tremendously! 😦

    xoxo

  24. Your log is great, the mushrooms look so real! amazing!!!

  25. lol, for a moment I was fooled! I was all ready to tell you not to eat random mushrooms found in your backyard until I realized it was frosting. Nice job!

  26. canelaycomino

    Marce, I think the cake and especially the mushrooms do look just terrific! I love the cherries and whipped cream idea for summer. Great job!

  27. Your mushrooms look great!! Well done!

  28. Those are some truly beautiful “mushrooms”!

  29. Your Yule log is great, but the mushrooms are fabulous…they look like what I wanted to do, but didn’t . Such a nice grouping, great color on the caps…wonderful!
    Happy New Year!

  30. Jen

    Oh wow, that looks stunning. What an amazing job you did decorating the yule log. AWESOME!!

  31. Wow, that looks awesome! I love your mushrooms and the cherries add the right color to the scene. Well done!

  32. Cherries!! Damn, I wish it were summer HERE… Cherries would be great with a dark chocolate hazelnut buttercream. If I can find a need for a fourth of July log, I know what I’m making! 🙂 Great job!

    Happy new year!

  33. Oh Wow! Yours turned out so nicely! The addition of hazlenuts must make it irresistible!

  34. Sol

    Mar!!! Comí uno de esos en Cap d’ any en Barcelona. Though, el tuyo se ve mucho más apetitoso.
    Miss you a lot…

  35. Your mushrooms are amazing! I must know what you used to make the brown color on top. The shape is so realistic. They look like you just picked them out of the forest. Great job……

Leave a Reply

