A full year

I seriously can´t believe it´s already been a year since I started this blog. After 130 some entries, some things have come to feel normal… even stalling people before they can dig in so I can take pictures of food (and pretending they don´t hate me for it), but I still marvel at many things that foodblogging has brought into my life, especially all the wonderful people I´ve met this year, both virtually and in person.

Even though I don´t talk much here about my life unrelated to food, I think our attitude towards food and our memories or experiences can be easily associated to different areas in our lives, and are a good reflection of our personalities. I would still like to talk more about other aspects of life sometimes, but something usually stops me, I don´t know if it´s lack of writing skills, shyness or what, but I´m going to be working on that for this second year of blogging.

For our little blog-anniversary celebration, I´m bringing some brownie-like chocolate cookies Molly posted about last week that I´ve already made twice: both in the very same version and with a touch of cinnamon, and even a lemon version for my grandma because she´s allergic to chocolate.

chocolate and lemon cookies

What´s remarkable about these cookies is that they don´t have obscene amounts of butter, which is always a welcome change.

The full recipe comes at the end of the post, but first I want to thank Deb for the inspiration to start this little blog of mine, and each and every one of you for reading my recipes and rantings, and for taking the time to comment, since I just love our little conversations (and to the many lurkers as well, because I know we don´t always have the time to comment). This has been a full year for me in many, many ways, and this blog has been a great companion while I try to grow both as a person and a cook. Thanks for tagging along!

Now for the second year, I need to get some stuff done, one of which is doing a recipe index (coming soon) and also finding out how to do those “one year ago” links at the end of each post, do any of you know how to do that? If so, please give me a hand, because I´m still sadly incompetent with many technical things.

chocolate and lemon cookies

Chewy Cocoa Cookies with Chocolate Chips Adapted from Alice Medrich, as seen in Orangette
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
¼ tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. salt
4 Tbsp. (½ stick) unsalted butter
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
7 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup plain yogurt, preferably not low- or nonfat
1 tsp. vanilla extract
½ cup chocolate chips, preferably Ghirardelli brand, either semisweet or bittersweet

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F (about 175°C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone liner.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

3. Place the butter in a medium microwave-safe bowl, and microwave briefly, until just melted. Add the sugars, and sift in the cocoa. Stir to blend well. The mixture will be somewhat thick and pasty, like wet sand. Add the yogurt and vanilla and stir to mix thoroughly. Add the dry flour mixture, and stir to just combine. Add the chocolate chips and stir to incorporate.

4. Drop the dough by generous tablespoons onto the prepared baking sheet. You should be able to fit about 8 or 9 cookies, nicely spaced, on a standard sheet pan. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes, or until the tops of the cookies have crackled slightly and look set. Transfer the sheet pan to a wire rack, and cool the cookies on the pan for 10 minutes. Transfer them to the rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough.

Yield: About 15 cookies

16 Comments

Filed under food, rambling, sweet

16 responses to “A full year

  1. Happy blog birthday, dear Marce!

    these cookies are a wonderful way of celebrating it!

  2. Happy Blog Anniversary. Beautiful cookies. I wish you another wonderful year of blogging your delicious food.

  3. deb

    I inspire you? I love your cooking and stories, and I am so happy you are enjoying blogging so much. Plus, you’re a Daring Baker! There is nothing you can’t do. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

  4. Happy blog birthday!! I was just realizing that I have been blogging for about 8 months – boy, does time fly!! I really enjoy reading your blog and look forward to many more posts!!

  5. congrats! here’s to another year.

  6. Hi Marcela! I admit that I don’t understand all the words here, but I can see It’s a Wounderful site! Very interesting… Congratulations!I’ll be subscribing to your feed and attempting to try some of your delicious recipes… Take care and GOD bless You! Cheers! Your Brazilian Friend from Blogging to Fame, Renato de Trindade
    (Just famed it and you. Sorry! My English is not very good. It’s only from American Music. Thanks)

  7. Happy Blog Birthday, sweetie!!

    I hope you have many more!

    xoxox

  8. Patricia- Thanks sweety.

    Cheryl- Thanks, and the cookies are indeed dreamy, it´s like a cookie and a brownie at the same time, aka, my version of heaven.

    Deb- Oh, yeah, lady, you do inspire me, and I´m sure a lot of other people, AND you are absolutely crazy for doing the NaBloPoMo again, but I´m sure you already know that.

    Deborah- Thanks for reading and yeah, time really does fly, the end of the year is just around the corner, yikes!

    Mark- Thanks, but you forgot the ñ 😛

    Amanda- Thanks for the good wishes!

    Renato- Your English is fine! I wish I could answer you in Portuguese, but I can´t. Thank you so much for your kind words and for faming my blog… I´ll promise to thank you as well in my acceptance speech 😉

    Lis- Thank you, dear, you are definitely one of those people who make blogging fun for me.

  9. Well, Marce, I’m very glad to have discovered you in the first year! These cookies are really good looking especially with something like reasonable butter!

  10. Congrats on a year!
    I’m sure it doesn’t even seem like it’s been that long. I can’t believe all of the things I’ve learned from fellow bloggers such as yourself. Keep it up!

  11. The year does fly doesn’t it!! Happy Blog Birthday and can’t wait to see what the upcoming year has in store for you!!!

  12. Congratulations! I look forward to another year of mouthwatering recipes and other aspects of life.

    Besos,
    Frank

  13. chris

    Hi just found your site and there are some great recipes (but) when i click on a recipe ie:- rustic apple cake it brings me to these cookies and this happens on other recipes can you tell me why please as so frustrating.Keep up the good cooking :0)

  14. Hey, Chris!
    Yes, I don´t know what went wrong with the recipe index, but it went a little crazy after I stopped writing the blog. Now I´m back, but I have a zillion things to do with my other website, but I´ll fix the recipe index as soon as I have the time. Thanks for reading!

    • chris

      Thank you for your quick reply,I will keep looking through your recipes and hope you get up to date with your other website.

Leave a Reply

