peanut butter, two ways

peanut butter crisscrosses 4

I haven´t always understood the fascination with peanut butter. Now before you kill me, peanut butter isn´t common all over the world, we do have a peanut butter candy called Mantecol, but other than that, you just don´t see peanut butter. Which is why when I first tried it in the US a few years ago, I was a bit taken aback. First of all, how come it wasn´t sweet? I just grabbed a spoonful of crunchy peanut butter, put it in my mouth and went “ewww this is actually a bit salty!”. And after that, I just never liked eating it by itself.

peanut butter crisscrosses

But using it in baked goods… well, that´s a completely different story! Last month, I got together with my friend Jenny and we had salads for lunch, followed by this monument to all things fattening: peanut butter brownies (with a chocolate glaze just in case you needed something extra). These were eaten a bit too fast to get more than one decent picture, so go and check out Deb´s site for the pictures and the recipe.

peanut butter brownies

peanut butter crisscrosses 3

As for the second incursion into peanut-butter land, I did Dorie´s peanut butter crisscrosses (using natural peanut butter because it was all I had, and although a bit crumbly, they were amazing.) So this would be another case where you need to let go of your biased ways and explore different things, in your constant crusade to fatten you and others up.

peanut butter crisscrosses 2

Peanut butter crisscrosses (adapted from Baking from my Home to Yours, by Dorie Greenspan)

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 pinch of all-spice

2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup light brown sugar

3/4 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cup chopped salted peanuts

About 1/2 cup sugar, for rolling

1. Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat oven to 350°F (about 175°C). Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicon mats.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and all-spice (or nutmeg if you want.)

3. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter on medium speed until creamy. Add peanut butter and beat for another minute. Add the sugars and beat until well combined, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time until thoroughly mixed – scraping down the sides a couple times. Add the dry ingredients and mix only until combined – stir in the chopped peanuts.

4. Put the remaining 1/2 cup sugar in a shallow bowl. Using a tablespoon cookie scoop, scoop out portions of the dough and roll the dough in your hands to form balls. Place the balls into the bowl of sugar and roll around to coat them. Place the balls on parchment lined baking sheets about 2″ apart to allow for spreading. Place a fork or potato masher into the sugar bowl and flatten the dough balls twice, in alternation directions, to form the crisscrosses.

5. Bake until the cookies are set, but still a little soft – about 10 to 12 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to bottom and front to back at midway point. Remove and let cool for 1 or 2 minutes before moving them to a wire rack with a metal spatula to cool completely. Repeat with the remaining dough, making sure to cool the baking sheets between batches.

Using a tablespoon cookie scoop, scoop out portions of the dough and roll the dough in your hands to form balls. Place the balls into the bowl of sugar and roll around to coat them. Place the balls on parchment lined baking sheets about 2″ apart to allow for spreading. Place a fork or potato masher into the sugar bowl and flatten the dough balls twice, in alternation directions, to form the crisscrosses.

Bake until the cookies are set, but still a little soft – about 10 to 12 minutes. Remove and let cool for 1 or 2 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely.

14 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

14 responses to “peanut butter, two ways

  1. I love anything peanut butter – but maybe it’s because I have always lived in the US and I am used to it. And I’m one of those people that can eat a big spoonful all by itself!! These cookies sound great – but anything from Dorie is good!!

  2. I could get PB in Peru no problem. Though they did model themselves on the US (despite their assurances they didn’t!). I loved the stuff, though have had to cut back on it, eating it from the jar is like standing up and saying “I’m Mark, and I’m a peanut butterer”.

  3. Chris

    Looks delicious!

  4. ooo peanut butter!!!! love it… i have to lock it up or else it’ll be devoured in one big spoon.

  5. I make my own peanut butter and there is no sugar, no salt and no added oils unless I need them for later. I could live on PB–as a vegetarian, its a wonderful source of protein too. I love to smother peanut butter on pizza for breakfast.

  6. Oh now peanut butter just is the best stuff. Both of those look fantastic.

  7. I am a pb fiend; my husband eats it like candy AND we have a cat (god, I know….it’s INSANE) that loves peanut butter.

    I crave the stuff, but only the natural kind. I can’t fathom why one would eat pb with sugar in it.

    I love the sound of those cookies! And those brownies??? Kill me now

  8. nan

    hi girlfriend!!

    mmm… peanut butter. (i just posted about dulce de leche con pochoclo, hehe) was this really a month ago? i finally made some cookies tonight – think it was the first time since these delicious bars!

  9. nan

    oh crap!! that last comment -(giggles) i was signed in as my friend who has never blogged before (giggles) i was setting it up for her and signed in w/ her info to help her out… haha, this is jenny!

    xoxo

  10. I heart peanut butter.. as a matter of fact, it’s one of my favorite desserts.. at least twice a week I’ll eat a couple (few) spoonfuls while watching TV. YUM! Ohhh and it’s fantastic on pancakes with maple syrup. 😛

    The cookies look killer.. I’ll have to try those!!

    xoxox

  11. Pingback: Manises x dos « Pip in the city

Leave a Reply

