Bright, oh, so bright

My ode to spring can start to make sense when you see strawberries like these:

strawberries with balsamic glaze

Strawberries are definitely one of those fruits better eaten fresh and not covered with too many flavors. It´s more of a matter of enhancing the natural flavors.

And while strawberries with whipped cream are perfectly fine in my world (and someday I´m even going to eat a cup in Wimbledon while watching hunky tennis players run), sometimes I need a something extra with my strawberries.

The first time I heard of sprinkling a pinch of pepper on top of strawberries I thought it was a bit whacky. But then I tried it and it actually worked very well. Then I heard of marinating strawberries with a balsamic vinegar glaze and wasn´t too sure either.

But after a while, it started making sense, balsamic vinegar does get quite sweet when reduced, so I tried it and boy, am I glad I did. It´s as if the strawberries get an additional dimension that makes them a bit more complex, adding acidity and sweetness at the same time.

strawberries with balsamic glaze

I went the lazy way and bought a balsamic glaze instead of regular balsamic vinegar, but if you can´t find something like that where you live, simply reduce balsamic vinegar until it thickens a bit (maybe you can even add a touch of sugar and then reduce over low heat, let me know if you try it this way.) To buy balsamic glaze online try here or here.

Last week, I was browsing our local gourmet magazine from last year and came across a recipe for this, but which heated up the strawberries with the balsamic glaze for a minute and then served it along with vanilla ice cream and a slice of brioche… can you say drooling??? So I´m gonna be trying that one as soon as I get to make brioche (and of course, I´ll let you in in all its deliciousness.)

strawberries with balsamic glaze

But in the meantime, I´m asking you to keep this combination in mind, oh and to come back on Sunday for the Daring Bakers post, with a recipe I know you are all going to love. Enjoy your weekend!

Strawberries with balsamic glaze

More of an idea than a recipe this time around.

Fresh strawberries

Balsamic glaze

Sugar

Orange juice

1. Wash, rinse and cut the strawberries.

2. Sprinkle with sugar, and pour some balsamic glaze and orange juice over them. Mix thoroughly, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for a few hours.

3. Serve as it is or with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream and a piece of brioche bread, yum!

4 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

4 responses to “Bright, oh, so bright

  1. What, no Bavarian cream and mirrors?😉

  2. Balsamic seems always to be surprising me and with strawberries it is absolutely a winner.

  3. For an even more delicious twist, try brown sugar and balsamic, toss and allow to macerate. God its just fabulous!

  4. For an even easier version:
    Wash and slice 16 oz. berries.
    Sprinkle with 1/4 cup sugar.
    Toss with 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar.
    Let sit for about an hour.
    Serve over vanilla ice cream with freshly ground black pepper.

Leave a Reply

