Moving

IMG_1777

Exactly one year ago today, I was getting all my earthly belongings to a whole new place. Moving out had been this long exciting process through several months of daydreaming, weekends at my brand new house, design consultations, reform disasters, chickening out, then getting excited again… so when the day came, I was ready, so to speak… there might have been a new freakout incident some days later haha

But all along, I knew deep down that it was the right move for me. I needed to grow up (and still do) and hanging out with my friends and exploring different things was becoming increasingly hard being at the other end of the city without a car.

I feel like I still have a long way to go if I want to be where I want to be inside, but I´m working on it. In the meantime, I´m taking a few punches here and there and learning to get back up on my own, enjoying the freedom that comes with being your own master, weekday lunches and dinners with friends, movie nights with the girls, the peace that comes when you sit down to read a book on the couch, dog resting on your feet and the rain falling gently through the window… all those little things add up.

Hopefully this second year will be filled with even more adventures, growth, and laughter… ultimately, it´s up to me, so I´ll just stop hoping and make it happen.

11 Comments

Filed under rambling

11 responses to “Moving

  1. This is a wonderful post. I know exactly where you’re coming from. I moved to Boston exactly a year ago. And I love how you put it about having a long way to go to be where you want on the inside. wonderful thoughts. Here’s to a great second year and new and fresh opportunities

  2. I moved out of my home when I was 17; I left my parents in Peru and came back to University in the UK. From the ages of around 8 to 16 you do lots of growing physically, from 16 onwards you start on your personality I think.

  3. Uhhmm.. hello? Did you forget to add fun filled nights of talking on Yahoo with your bestest Ohioan friend of all time?? 😛

    I look forward to hearing all about your ups and downs as you pass the years in your adorable house with that gorgeous Pheebs. 😀

    xoxo

  4. What a beautifully thought-provoking post. I am both honored and privileged to have shared a part of your journey with you. I look forward to sharing your continued growth and exploration vicariously and drawing from the wisdom you impart.

  5. Everything, life, cooking, everything is all about the balance between the extremes (up and downs) and the everyday.
    You’re doing a great job Marce! I’m happy to share just a little bit with you.

  6. hey marce,
    what a wonderful passage you are at…i feel like i can relate in many ways. so here’s to another year of city life and adventures! 🙂 xo, jenny

  7. Marce…this is lovely. I love how in the photo, the brick wall has resisted being plastered…and is eventually breaking free….

    Notice, it’s a bottom up process. 🙂

    xoxo-
    Traca

  8. pip con la casa tan buena que tenés y pones la foto del pasillo (que es lo unico feo de tu hogar). Si no conociera tu casa personalmente creeria que te fuiste a vivir a Ciudad Oculta. El pasillo es muy feo, pero tu casa todos sabemos que te la envidio.

  9. Thanks to everyone for your insightful comments, I´m glad you enjoyed the post, even though it wasn´t related to food at all.
    As for the comment in Spanish, that´s my older brother criticizing my choice of the picture above… his problem, I do like that hallway.

    Javier- A mí sí que me gusta mi pasillo, querido, y tampoco le voy a andar mostrando toda mi casa al ciberespacio 😛 Aparte, la foto era medio metafórica de los pasillos y los giros de la vida, porque ese era el tono de la entrada.

  10. It wonderful isn’t it, when a risk turns out to have been a great decision. I moved to Japan after college and it was the coolest three years of my life. Now I’m contemplating moving states in Australia and that’s daunting, too, but I feel hopeful that it’ll be a good move.

  11. Hey, you forgot chatting with your favorite Tartelette and MamaMia…! Ah, the ups and downs of freedom!

Leave a Reply

