Back to basics

IMG_2305

When you are in a funk, it´s good to turn to comfort food, and to me, comfort food usually equals Mediterranean food. But I didn´t want to do the same old stuff, since I have a blog to update after all, so I turned to The Cook´s Book and started making a list of all the basic and not-so-basic recipes I want to try.

This tomato tapenade basically screamed at me. As you probably know, the typical tapenade is mainly made out of olives and capers. But this one also has sundried tomatoes, garlic, lemon and many other appetizing additions.

IMG_2315

One of the beauties of this recipe, besides the fact that it packs a punch in terms of flavor, is that it´s incredibly versatile. The typical use would be spread over bread, and it´s delicious like that, but I also tried it with chickpeas and it´s amazing, and it made a last minute meal of plain spaghetti almost sing. Other uses I´ve thought of is to mix it with ricotta and use it as a ravioli filling, or add it to dough for pizza or bread.

IMG_2312

I think you get the point by now, you need to make it! You can adjust the quantities in the recipe to suit your taste, as did I, or add some other herbs you think would work well here. Bon appetitt!

Tomato tapenade (adapted from a recipe by Paul Gayler found in The Cook´s Book)

Makes 1 cup

3 1/2 oz (100g) oiled-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and rougly chopped (I used around 15 regular sun-dried tomatoes, not preserved in oil)

1 tsp Dijon mustard

2 1/2 tsp capers, rinsed and drained (the original called for the same amount of tablespoons, but I thought it was too much for my taste)

3 tbsp pitted green olives

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 tsp chopped rosemary

1 tsp lemon juice

6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1. Put all the ingredients in a food processor. Using the on-off pulse button, process to a coarse purée, but not until smooth.

2. Season the tapenade with salt and pepper to taste. Serve at room temperature (but you can keep it in the fridge for at least a few days and I´m fairly sure it freezes well too.)

8 Comments

Filed under food, savory, vegetables

8 responses to “Back to basics

  1. Marce this is really beautiful. I took one look at those greens and the chick peas and they took me right over the top but the recipe you give is for the Tomato tapenade! And it does sound wonderful and ready to take on many dishes – those are really the very best.

  2. Looks brilliant! Well, as much as salads can 😀

  3. hmph. it’s 11.50 pm here, and I am just sad about not seeing this post of yours a few hours ago, which would have led to an interesting dinner!

  4. Why???? Why didn’t I read blogs yesterday??? I was DYING for tapenade today but had no olives. I’ve got PLENTY of sundried tomatoes though.. *sigh*

    This WILL be made soon.. I’m glad you picked it. 😀

    xoxo

  5. i love how your comfort food is tapenade {which i agree, is wholesome and yummy} and not like, bread or mac and cheese

  6. Marce, this tapenade is new to me but I can tell I’d love it!

  7. This dish looks so lovely, simple and elegantly presented. Sure a winner and something for your guest to think of.

  8. We now have now started to keep an eye on energy even as things are powerless to control sooner than later. We will be able to have affect, however its personal power, unused and undirected method nothing. We have, with incapability, a desire to control the former. I would say that we’re powerless and instead of being considered ignorant (his version of the powerless, I guess.) We all know that the facility, ranging from the very best level, is what he saw while all of that loss of talent to grab the theory of checking out was exposed.

Leave a Reply

