When life hands you lemons…

Things aren´t going particularly smoothly for me right now, so I hope you forgive me for the lack of regular posts. Our family dog, Maia, seems to have a severe neurological problem and we still don´t know what it is, so I don´t know if she´ll make it or not (she´s not even 5 yet, by the way). And Phoebe has been having problems with her eyes (i need to take her to the vet yet again, but I´m pretty sure she has a cataract in her left eye and she´s only 7 months old).

I´m sure that for those of you who don´t have pets, this doesn´t sound like such a big deal, but when you love your dogs as much as my family and I do, it means there´s quite a bit of despair floating around.

So cooking, and writing, are taking a back seat right now… and it doesn´t help matters at all that I´m being cheap with buying new ingredients since not much work has been coming my way lately. Yes, I am officially the reincarnation of Debbie Downer, but I just wanted to explain why I haven´t been posting much lately.

IMG_2271

But to cheer things up a little bit, I´m going to tell you about some kickass lemon bars I made a couple of weeks ago for a BA bloggers meeting (along with my staple brownie recipe and the chocolate-chip-yogurt cake I posted about almost a year ago). You have probably seen them before since Mary of Alpineberry first posted about them and then Helene adapted them. I used Helene´s version but used lemons instead of key limes and upped the amounts for the crust a bit since I knew that wouldn´t be enough for a 10×13 pan.

IMG_2294

They are extremely easy to make, yield quite a few bars and the general concensus was that they were great, so I´m definitely making them again soon… since life has been handing me lemons lately, I might just use them!

 Lemon bars, adapted from Helene at Tartelette:

Crust:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/4 tsp salt
6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cold and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

Filling:
6 large eggs
3 cups superfine or bakers’ sugar
6 tbsp all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tb finely grated lemon zest
3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and line a 13×10-inch square pan with parchment paper.
2. To make crust: Combine flour, confectioners’ sugar and salt in the bowl of a food processor. Add butter and pulse until the mixture is pebbly. Press evenly into the bottom of your prepared pan. Bake until lightly golden, about 15-20 minutes. Set aside crust.
3. To make filling: In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, sugar, flour and salt. Whisk in lemon zest and juice until well combined. Pour over crust (it’s okay if crust is still hot). Bake until filling is just set, about 15 to 18 minutes (it should be a bit wiggly in the center as it´ll finish settling as it cools). Cool completely before serving. Dust with confectioners’ sugar if desired.

12 Comments

Filed under food, Maia, Phoebe, rambling, sweet

12 responses to “When life hands you lemons…

  1. The bars looks so decadent.

    I will keep your dogs in my thoughts and prayers. I am a huge animal lover and parent to 7 furkids, so I am right with you on how you feel.

  2. Take care of yourself and your family *yes, our pets are our family* first and the blog will be right here when you come back.

  3. I hope your dogs will be well soon. I’m a new reader to your blog, but I just recognized you, well your cool black aprons, from the apron roundup! Take care.

  4. Sorry to hear about your pup 😦 hope she gets better soon.

  5. I have been missing our nightly chats since Sophie is in town and I am in severe Marce Withdrawl and it’s not pretty (combined with a Lisa’s one and you can imagine!!).
    I just wanted to tell you that if I could make everything better for you right now I would. I looked at Tippy and gave him a huge hug because I realised how lucky we had been these past 10 years with no illess or incidents. Give the girls a kiss for me, we are thinking about them and your family.

  6. Hope your dogs will get well soon.
    I have been following your blog for sometime now. Check out your recipe so that I can make it for my Argentinian hubby. Lemon bars is one of his fav. Going to make some for him this weekend. Take care

  7. Marce, I’m so sorry to hear about the dogs… 😦 I hope things work out fine in the end.

    The lemon bars look so good!

  8. I understand your pain. My dog is a member of the family and I can’t imagine what I would do if he was having health problems. I hope all goes well.

    The lemon bars look fantastic, though!

  9. Marce,

    Sorry to hear about Maia. I hope things turn out well.

    Saludos,
    Frank

  10. Hang in there Marce… my thoughts and prayers are with your family — both human and canine — during this difficult time.

  11. It seems kind of strange to be commenting on lemon slice when you’re going through a sad time over Maia. I hope baking did add some cheer and maybe take your mind off things for a while. It certainly looks like wonderful comfort food.

  12. I can attest the lemon bars were amazingly delicious!

Leave a Reply

