Strange combo… or maybe not so much

lemon rosemary muffin

When I think of sweet concoctions, they don´t usually include things like olive oil and rosemary. But after reading a recipe in Baking, I started reconsidering and thinking “just why the heck wouldn´t it work?”.

Well, I´m pleased to say it worked like a charm. So much so that next time I´m increasing the quantity of rosemary a bit (in fact, what you get in the recipe below is the quantity I´m planning on using next time, but if you want to play it safe, use 1/2 a tablespoon or so and then add the rest to the glaze after trying the muffins.) I didn´t make this following the recipe because I didn´t have the book with me at the time and I had to use up more yogurt than the original recipe called for.

lemon rosemary muffins

The main flavors are lemon and rosemary and there´s a hint of olive oil in the back. As usual, the plain yogurt gives this muffins a very moist crumb (and reduce the guilt-factor, at least for me, since they don´t require as much fat.)

Since I decided that the muffins could use an extra dose of sweetness and rosemary, I did my usual lemon-powdered sugar glaze and simply added a bit of fresh rosemary to the mix.

lemon rosemary muffins 2

If you aren´t convinced yet, they are also a cinch to make, and every single one of my guinea pigs loved them (and they were plenty guinea pigs this time around.) Now, if you still refuse to try them, then I sincerely pity you, you are missing out!

lemon rosemary muffins 3

Lemon rosemary muffins with olive oil (inspired by Baking from my Home to Yours, by Dorie Greenspan)

Yields around 15 muffins.

Plain yogurt, strained (or greek yogurt), 1 cup

Sugar, 1 1/2 cups

Lemon zest, 2 tablespoons

Fresh rosemary, 1 tablespoon

Olive oil, 1/2 cup

Eggs, 3

Flour, self-rising, 3 cups (or use all-purpose flour with 2 teaspoons of baking powder)

1. Put the yogurt in a colander covered with a cheesecloth and place it over a bowl in the fridge overnight or for a few hours. (If you use greek yogurt, you can skip this step, since it´s thick enough.)

2. In a medium-big bowl, mix in the sugar, the rosemary and the lemon zest rubbing the mixture with the palms of your hands to make sure you get the most fragrance out of the lemon and the rosemary.

3. Add the strained yogurt, the eggs and the olive oil with a metal whisk until everything is incorporated. Then add the flour.

4. Pour into a buttered and floured muffin pan (you can also line the pan with disposable cupcake molds or just use cooking spray as I usually do).

5. Bake in a preheated 350°F (180°C) oven for 15-20 minutes or until you run a knife in the middle of the muffin and it comes out clean.

For the glaze:

Powdered sugar

Lemon juice

Fresh rosemary

1. Put the powdered sugar into a little bowl, add the fresh rosemary and start adding lemon juice little by little. If it gets too thin, add a bit more powdered sugar until you get the right consistency. I like my glazes quite transparent and runny, but not so runny that it all falls down the sides. If you want a fancier presentation, you can add a cute piece of fresh rosemary to each muffin when the glaze is still moist so it sticks.

13 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

13 responses to “Strange combo… or maybe not so much

  1. I have rosemary growing like weeds in the front & back.
    It never fails to amaze me how this book (Dorie really) is so consistently terrific.
    These really are beauties Marce.

  2. teeni

    These look delicious. Isn’t it funny how some herbs/spices seem like strange partners – but taste great together. LOL. Now I’ve gone and gotten that old commercial for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in my head – Two great tastes that taste great together…;)

  3. This is making me so hungry:)

  4. i’m glad you found such a yummy little surprise. yeah, lemon & rosemary go well together, and i saw on everyday italian [with giada] that she made an olive oil cake that was ‘to die for’… so i can imagine these little gems being just perfect!

  5. ME LIKES MUFFINS TOO. OH, THEYLOOKSOYUMMY!

  6. The combination in these muffins reminds me of the rosemary cake I made. I am so glad yours came out so much better. I will have to take some tips from this recipe to make the cake better.

  7. Oh these look sweetly spectacular. I would surely try them….there’s nothing like moist muffins!

  8. Your muffins look wonderful, Marce – love lemon and rosemary, gotta try these!

  9. PIP, ME JUST POSTED VIDEO OF ME EATING CUPCAKES. SEE ME NOT ONLY LIKE COOKIES.

    ME SURE THAT ERNIE´S CUPCAKES NOT AS GOOD AS YOURS.

  10. Actually, I coan totally see the combo work. I like rosemary and lemon shortbread cookies so I am looking forward to trying these in the near future. Just because I have a Pip curiosity here’s a new tag for you: http://tartelette.blogspot.com/2007/07/weekend-memecatching-up-with-tartelette.html

  11. OMG, the 2 desserts you brought–the lemony ones and the chocolately-but-not-too-much ones were FANTASTIC!
    What a sweetie you are!!

  12. I love this kind of recipe, where there’s a twist on the norm. I’m definitely going to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

