Who needs a dishwasher?

Not everyone has a huge kitchen with a big sink or a dishwasher, some of us have tiny kitchens with small sinks and hate the thought of washing dishes, which is why a recipe like this is a godsend.

the easiest tangerine muffins

Basically, you cut some fruit (tangerines or mandarin oranges, in this case), remove the seeds, put it in the food processor along with sugar, oil, flour and eggs, push the button for a little while, pour it in a pan, bake it and voilá, all you have is the food processor bowl to clean (and the pan, but that happens AFTER you eat some muffins, so it doesn´t hurt as much.)

tangerine muffins

No need to be afraid of the use of the whole peel, it´s very soft anyway and it can even be done with oranges or lemons (but I´m working on the lemon version, but I need to get it just perfect before I post it here because the amounts change quite a bit, though I can say that I think I like it even better with lemon.)

But in the meantime, give this one a try, be it in a cake pan or muffin pans, as I´m sure it´ll become one of the staples in your house.

tangerine muffins

Tangerine muffins

Medium sized tangerines, 2

Sugar, 2 cups

Corn oil, 1 cup (any other neutral oil works fine)

Eggs, 2

Vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon

Self-rising flour, 3 cups

Yields around 12 muffins. 

1. Cut the tangerines into quarters (without peeling them) and remove the seeds. Put them in the bowl of your food processor or blender.

2. Add the sugar and the oil. Process until smooth.

3. Add the eggs and pulse a few times until smooth.

4. Lastly, add the flour and pulse a few times to incorporate, but make sure not to overwork the batter.

5. Pour into a floured and buttered muffin pan (or use a baking spray like I do).

6. Bake in a preheated 350°F (180°C) oven for 15-20 minutes, until you insert a knife in the middle and it comes out clean.

You can glaze them with a mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar like I usually do or eat them plain.

9 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

9 responses to “Who needs a dishwasher?

  1. A muffin you can completely blend in a blender? How cool. And from a girl who does have a dishwasher but it is broke right now, I really appreciate this recipes. Looks fantastic.

  2. Cheryl- I know, it´s a godsend when you have little time and don´t feel like taking on a huge baking project. Besides, during tangerine season, I always have all the ingredients at hand.

  3. Sweetie, I’m tagging it right now – these muffins are screaming my name!🙂

  4. whoa really?! all in the blender?! wonderful!

  5. I hate doing dishes, so I’m all over this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Those are adorable! And I’m all for not doing dishes… I keep saying that I wish someone would get me a dishwashing pony, yes, that’s right, a pony!

  7. These look like my kind of treat!

  8. Patricia- Great! Do let me know how they turn out when you make them!

    Connie- Yep, a lazy girl´s dream come true.

    Lynn- You are welcome. I hope you like it.

    Brilynn- hahahaha when you get your dishwashing pony, please make a video and upload it to you tube, I´d be all for watching that!

    Heather- Glad you liked them.

  9. Sounds like the perfect thing after a long day and nothing sweet to eat! They look adorable!

Leave a Reply

