And the winner is…

hogaza gallega

The boob bread! Yes, indeed, the people have spoken and decided that they wanted the recipe for the Hogaza Gallega. I´ve always felt that big boosoms were important in our society, and I see I´m not mistaken. Even though I resent that personally, I´m gonna go ahead and translate the recipe for you.

hogaza gallega 2

hogaza gallega 3

Now, about the boob shape, I was just following orders. You see, the guy who wrote this bread book, Marcelo Vallejo, he specifically said that I should grab a small piece of the dough with my hand and give it a twist… and so I did, unaware that I was creating something more suitable for an adult magazine… or at least a Super Bowl show.

In fact, I didn´t realize the anatomical reference of my two beautiful loaves until a friend pointed it out, and thereby this bread was renamed forever.

Now, back to the recipe. This is a traditional bread, which means it requires some love and care and a few hours to spare (I guess I can inadvertingly rhyme.)

hogaza gallega 4

It uses a starter and an extra pan with water in the oven to generate steam, but other than that, it´s not difficult to make and it generates a very moist loaf of bread with a very nice crumb and crust which can be given many uses… even romantic inspiration I guess.

 

hogaza gallega 5

Hogaza gallega (from 145 Recetas de panes y galletas by Marcelo Vallejo)

Yields 2 big loaves

Ingredients:

For the starter:

Fresh yeast, 35 grams (or around 10 grams of dry yeast, or 1 tablespoon)

Lukewarm water, 100 cc

Sugar, 1 teaspoon

Bread flour, 180 g

For the dough:

Bread flour, 700 g

All purpose flour, 300 g

Malt flour, 1 teaspoon (I didn´t find any, so I just added 1 t of malt extract for extra moisture)

Salt, 22 g

Water, 575 cc

Pork fat, 100 g (now, this might be traditional, but I just used butter since I didn´t have any pork fat available and the supermarket variety is disgusting)

1. For the starter: dissolve the yeast in the lukewarm water, add the sugar and incorporate the flour little by little. Make a soft ball and knead for a few minutes. Cover with plastic wrap and let it rest until it doubles.

2. For the dough: mix the flours with the salt, put it all in your countertop and make a hole in the middle. Put the starter in the middle, add the lukewarm water, the softened pork fat (or butter) and the malt extract if you are using any, if you are using malt flour, mix it first with the flours.

3. Join all the ingredients little by little and incorporate the flour from the sides until you get a relatively soft dough. Knead for 10 minutes.

4. Divide the dough into 2 and make 2 balls. Cover with plastic wrap and let them rest for 20 minutes.

5. Give them a round shape once again.

6. Put them on a slightly floured pan. Spray the top of the loaves with water and then sprinkle with some flour. Cover and let them double.

7. Preheat the oven to 200°C and put a tallish pan with water inside the oven to generate steam.

8. Grab a small piece of dough from the center of each loaf and give it a little twist so you get a very small roll on top.

9. Bake for 45 minutes (Now this part is tricky because I ended up removing the water from the oven and cooking the bread for an extra half an hour or so before I could get it to fully cook… maybe my technique was lacking somehow, but keep this in mind.)

7 Comments

Filed under bread

7 responses to “And the winner is…

  1. I really think that’s a wonderful story!
    I think this bread is beautiful.

  2. I just love that bread because I can pretend I have boobs…at least for one day!

  3. Hey… you could tuck them into your bra when hiking and not only would ou look fabulous on the trail, but you’d have warm bread for lunch. And as an added bonus – you’d shock the lederhosen off fellow hikers who watched you pull one out and start munching ;-))

  4. Never in my life did I imagine I’d be so attracted to a boob. But yeah, I’d munch on these at anytime.

    xoxo

  5. LOl…this made me chuckle. i think this is the kind of bread that i can convince my guy to make!

Leave a Reply

