Of pizzas and dogs, a coming-of-age story

Lest you think the crepe mayhem destroyed my will to cook and write, I´m gonna write a quick post today with a general update on food and life.

I´m still enamoured by all things bready, which means I have yet to translate and post 2 more bread recipes (and to think I´m a translator, but translating into English, and for free, really bugs me hahaha.) But I´ll get to it soon, hopefully during the weekend, when I usually have more time to write.

And I made pizza crust this week following a recipe (a first for me), which turned out very good, and I promise to share it with you as soon as I can.

IMG_1511

IMG_1513

Yummy, non?

And for those of you wondering about my puppy, soon-to-be-grownup, Phoebe, she´s doing great and behaving like a true lady most of the time, though I´m afraid I´ll have to start saying goodbye to her puppy days. Just look how big she is at 4 months of age! (that Royal Canin in the background seems to be working for her!)

IMG_1523

IMG_1534

We have started going to the park (yepee! finally!), and she´s still polishing her social skills with other dogs and with people… you see, she doesn´t seem to grasp the concept that jumping on all dogs and people is not cool.

Here she is, enjoying some pampering from yours truly.

IMG_1530

And then giving me a spa treatment for my hands so that they´ll never get too dry.

IMG_1542

Well, that´s it for now. I need to clean up the house before some friends arrive, so I´m sorry but I´ll have to keep this very short today. I´ll do an update with the pizza crust recipe soon and hopefully catch up on old recipes during the weekend.

UPDATE: recipe after the jump.

Herbal pizza crust (adapted and translated from 145 recetas de panes y facturas, by Marcelo Vallejo)

Starter:

Fresh yeast, 40 grams (around 1 T and 1/2 of dry yeast)

Water, 75cc

Sugar, 1 teaspoon

Dough:

All-purpose flour, 1 kilo

Salt, 22 grams

Malta flour, 1 teaspoon (here I used 1 teaspoon of malt extract instead for moisture)

Water, 575cc

Olive oil, 50cc

Fresh oregano, 1 Tablespoon (I used a bit more of dried oregano instead)

Chives, chopped, 1 Tablespoon

Fresh thyme, 1 T

Fresh tarragon, 1 T

* Just use whatever herbs you want, have around. I didn´t have thyme or tarragon this time around, so I used dried rosemary and parsley, for instance.

Tomato sauce, to pour over the crust.

Yields 4 pizzas.

1. For the starter: Mix in the yeast in the lukewarm water and add the sugar. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 10 minutes.

2. For the dough: In a bowl, mix the flour with the salt and the malt flour (if you are using it, if you are using malt extract, mix it with the water instead.) Make a hole in the middle and put the lukewarm water, the oil, the herbs and the starter in the center.

3. Start to mix everything from the sides working your way towards the center until you get a soft dough. Knead until you see that the dough is soft and tender.

4. Divide the dough into 4 balls and let them rise for 45 minutes.

5. Roll in each ball giving it a round shape.

6. Place in oiled 32 cm pizza pans. Pour some tomato sauce over it. Cover with plastic wrap (or a kitchen towel) and let it rise until it doubles.

7. Preheat the oven to 200°C.

8. Bake the pizzas for around 15-20 minutes (then add the desired toppings and bake again until it´s done.)

12 Comments

Filed under bread, Phoebe

12 responses to “Of pizzas and dogs, a coming-of-age story

  1. Oh my godness, your pizza ar wonderful and your dog is so sweet, very

  2. Puppy pictures!!! I love it. I could never get tired of puppy pictures. Oh he is so very precious.

    I just had takeout pizza for dinner last night. Yours look so, so, so much better than what I had. Oh that crust!

  3. She still takes my breath away..

    squeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love Phoebe pictures!!! I can’t get over how quick they grow up.. so not fair. But I love the hair on her head between her ears.. lol it’s like a tuft. hehee

    Ohh.. did you say something about food? I don’t quite recall as I’m gushing (kind of embarassingly) over your puppy.

    xoxox

  4. Adorable puppy pics! She’s just too cute!

  5. Bea

    Hi Marcela,

    As a great lover of food blogs, I was so thrilled to find yours this morning (just before my university exam hehehe)! I have yet to read it all but it looks so lovely and yummy! I’m so excited…just like that feeling after buying a promising book. Your blog combines my two great loves — food and Argentina. I love, breathe, think, and dream of food all the time. And my boyfriend lives in Argentina…in fact he goes to university in Palermo too. So naturally, I am interested in all things Argentine🙂 Anyways, I just wanted to introduce myself before I dig into your archives😉

  6. That pizza looks wonderful!
    Phoebe is gorgeous…I love when you post about her!

  7. Phoebe looks so adorable…kind of like a gangly teenager. Thanks for sharing photos. 🙂

  8. great looking pizza and your pup is for sure growing up! very cute🙂

  9. Oh they are always puppies. Mine is over 7 years old now and I still call her a puppy.
    Pizza looks great….I too have been on a big bread kick lately.

  10. I can’t believe how big the baby puppies are now. Wow!
    Your pizza looks fantastic!

  11. Pom d´api- Thanks🙂 Your blog looks great, but unfortunately I can´t understand any French.

    Cheryl- Thanks, though I´m glad she doesn´t read, otherwise she´d go all diva on me! haha And yeah, we all do delivered pizza sometimes, there´s no shame in that, though I definitely prefer the homemade variety.

    Lisa- hahaha yeah, I knew you´d be all for the Phoebe update. And I did say something about food, but nevermind, nothing fundamental.

    Gilly- Thanks, I´m glad you liked them.

    Bea- Thanks so much for your very kind words. I´m definitely not deserving of being compared with a good book, my writing skills are quite rudimentary, but I still hope you enjoy the archives. And I´m sure your boyfriend is going to enjoy the Argentine recipes you´ll prepare next time he visits you.

    Helen- Thanks! I didn´t know you were among the dog-loving crowd🙂

    Traca- Thanks to you for commenting and reading with your crazy schedule!

    Connie- Thanks!

    Peabody- Yeah, definitely. Phoebe´s mom, Maia, is almost 5 and she still acts like a puppie, especially now that she´s a bit jealous of Phoebe when I bring her to my parents´ for a visit haha
    And bread is definitely addicting, both to consume and to make, it´s just such a relaxing process!

    Kristen- I know! I can´t believe it either, but she grows by the hour it seems.

  12. Pingback: Milanesas, reloaded « Pip in the city

Leave a Reply

