Crepe mayhem… also known as butter by the pound

One of the things I like the best about food blogging is the challenge. It forces me to avoid repetition and to think outside the box as much as possible. The sense of community and the chance to meet wonderful people from around the world is definitely high up there as well.

So when I first read the exploits of the lovely cooking group known as the Daring Bakers, I was immediately hooked. They were making croissants that time around, so it was quite an impressive affair, and the email exchange one of the girls posted had me giggling all the way.

This is all to explain why I´m so honored and thrilled to be part of the group, and boy was it a big challenge indeed! The comments and exchanges alone made it worth the effort and near-tears of frustration!

Brilynn chose this month´s recipe, which is a chocolate crepe cake with hazelnut cream by none other than Martha Stewart. I had heard some complaints about her recipes not working… and if I have to make a judgement based on this cake, especially the crepe part, I would have to agree.

chocolate crepe cake with hazelnut filling

You see, I was trying to be a good girl and started practising the crepes a week before I was planning to make the cake, but the crepe batter was terrible to work with… so very frail that after my first try with just a small percentage of the recipe, I didn´t end up with a single whole crepe… yes, what you would call a true success story.

But I was determined not to fail on my first challenge as a Daring Baker, so a week after that, I gave it another go doing the full amount of the recipe and armed with my grandma´s crepe pan (she has done thousands of crepes for caneloni using that pan, so it definitely had the good karma part down.)

The first few crepes were still troublesome, but I had got the hang of it by the 4th crepe or so and I couldn´t be happier, the cake was actually going to happen… which might not seem like a lot to hope for, but trust me, given the circumstances, getting a cake, or anything resembling a cake was quite a feat!

blablabla 008

After the crepes were done, I ordered in some pizza because I had friends for dinner and gathered some extra energy to complete the rest of the cake the very next morning.

blablabla 011

And, luckily for my poor tormented baking soul, the rest of the recipe wasn´t problematic at all… well, actually, it was very problematic in the moderated-amounts-of-butter department. You see, this cake has looooooooads of butter, and when I say loads, I mean it, a bit over 1 pound over all PLUS some cream to top it all off.

Don´t get me wrong, I can accept normal amounts of butter in recipes, and brownies are my thing, and as you know, that sort of thing requires a healthy amount of butter (please, don´t take the word “healthy” too literally), but this recipe made me shudder!

blablabla 016

We were allowed to change the filling, but, having no allergies and this being my first challenge, I decided to go all out, or, as Brilynn would say, “go big or go home”.

I used Nutella because that´s the only hazelnut cream I could find and I used 1/2 cup less sugar in the filling because Nutella is quite sweet in itself, but that´s all I changed, and the result, while good, certainly didn´t justify THAT much butter.

But luckily for my cooking ego and for my thighs, everyone seemed to enjoy it tremendously so it disappeared quickly, which is a lot to say since a tiny slice of it was strong enough to fill you up for a few hours.

The moral of this story is definitely to avoid Martha recipes as much as possible and to stay away from recipes with ridiculous amounts of butter. In fact, I´ll be happy if I never see another crepe for the rest of my life… actually, I´m ok with the seeing part, just don´t ask me to make you one, at least, lets say, for a year or so, thank you very much.

blablabla 032

Still, I´m really, and I mean REALLY happy I was able to complete this challenge. It definitely put my patience to test and made me reach beyond my comfort zone. I can´t wait to see what next month brings… hopefully, the Martha will stay the hell away from us this time, either that or I´m calling the Donald to stage an attack against her… don´t dare say I didn´t warn you, Martha!

For the rest of the girls´take on this monster, see here.

Darkest Chocolate Crepe Cake

Ingredients
3/4 Cup (1 1/2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces, plus melted for pan
8 Ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 1/2 Cups all-purpose flour
1/3 Cup sugar
1/2 Teaspoon salt
2 1/2 Cups whole milk, room temperature
6 large eggs, room temperature
1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract

Directions
1. Bring 1/4 cup water to a rolling boil in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Add butter, 1 piece at a time, whisking to combine after each addition. Remove from heat; stir in chocolate until completely melted. Set aside.
2. Whisk together flour, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl. Whisk together milk, eggs, and vanilla in another medium bowl. Gradually add milk mixture to flour mixture, whisking until smooth. Add chocolate-butter mixture, whisking until smooth. Pour through a fine sieve into an airtight container; discard lumps. Refrigerate at least 2 hours or up to overnight.
3. Lightly coat an 8-inch crepe pan or nonstick skillet with melted butter. Heat over medium heat until just starting to smoke. Remove pan from heat; pour about 2 tablespoons batter into pan, swirling to cover bottom. Reduce heat to medium-low; return pan to heat. Cook, flipping once, until edges are golden and center is dry, about 30 seconds per side.
4. Slide crepe onto a plate. Repeat process with remaining batter, coating pan with butter as needed. Crepes can be refrigerated, covered, up to 1 day.
5. Place a crepe on a wire rack set over a rimmed baking sheet. Spread with about 3 tablespoons hazelnut filling. Top with another crepe. Continue layering with hazelnut filling and crepes, using about 32 crepes and ending with a crepe on top. Refrigerate until firm, about 15 minutes.
6. Spoon 1/2 cup glaze on top of the cake, spreading to edges. Spread remaining glaze around sides of cake, coating completely. Refrigerate until glaze is firm and set, about 20 minutes. Cake can be refrigerated up to 3 days. Garnish with toasted and candied hazelnuts.

Hazelnut Filling

Ingredients

Serving: Makes about 8 cups

2/3 Cup heavy cream
6 large egg whites
1 2/3 Cups sugar (I used around 1 cup because the Nutella is sweetened.)
1 3/4 Cups (3 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces, softened
1 Teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/3 Cup hazelnut cream, (I used Nutella)
1 salt

Directions
Put cream into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment; beat on medium-high speed until soft peaks form, about 4 minutes. Transfer to a medium bowl. Refrigerate 1 hour.
Whisk egg whites and sugar in the clean bowl of mixer set over a pan of simmering water until sugar has dissolved and mixture registers 160 degrees;, 2 to 3 minutes.
Attach bowl to mixer fitted with the clean whisk attachment; beat on high speed until slightly cooled and stiff (but not dry) peaks form, about 5 minutes.
Fit mixer with paddle attachment. With mixer on medium-low speed, add butter, several pieces at a time, mixing well after each addition (meringue will deflate slightly as butter is added). Add vanilla, hazelnut cream, and salt; mix until mixture comes together, 3 to 5 minutes. Fold in whipped cream with a rubber spatula. Use immediately.

Chocolate Glaze

Ingredients
Serving: Makes about 2 cups

1 1/4 Cups heavy cream
1 Tablespoon light corn syrup (I used maple syrup instead because it was what I had on hand.)
1 teaspoon salt
10 Ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

Directions
Bring cream, corn syrup, and salt to a boil in a medium, heavy saucepan over medium- medium-high heat. Remove from heat. Add chocolate; swirl pan to cover completely with cream. Let stand about 5 minutes. Stir until smooth. Let cool completely.

28 Comments

Filed under Daring bakers, sweet

28 responses to “Crepe mayhem… also known as butter by the pound

  1. Your pictures are wonderful but I love the next to last with the up angle the very best. This cake was an uphill struggle all the way!
    I “shared” my cake with several neighbors and several were begging for another slice.
    Great job!

  2. Marce-we made it! I think we should be very proud of ourselves!

  3. I love that post! And I really love the way you decorated the cake! So clever!

  4. Gorgeous layers, Marce! Wow you really did go for it! It’s beautiful =)

    And you made me choke on my coffee with The Martha and The Donald comment.. HAHAHAHAAAA!!! Tooo funny!

    Way to go! Can’t wait until next month. =)

    xoxox

  5. wow, that is quite the challenge! crepes can be tricky and this just looks amazing. and i’m glad that everyone liked it so as to justify the butter & the frustration!

  6. It looks so pretty with the flower on top and yes “The Martha” is in nearly everyones bad books right about now!

  7. Hi Marce! I love the idea of using Nutella in the filling – what a fantastic improv… and your decorations were beautiful. I’ m pleased to hear that your taste-testers really enjoyed the cake.

  8. I love that filling! Great job. Beautiful chocolate rose. I had to host a dinner party just for that cake, twist my arm! Happy to hear it received high praises.

  9. Marce, like you I couldn’t find hazelnut cream so I used Nutella too but didn’t reduce the sugar. It was bit “over the top” in sweet. I love the chocolate rose on top your cake.

  10. Love the decoration and congrats on your first DB event! The amount of butter was absolutely insane! I took a photo of all that went into the filling and I was too embarressed to publish it!! Not an artery friendly cake!

  11. Have to agree, the amount of fat in this cake is amazing. You did a spectacular job, right down to the lovely chocolate rose. So gald you have joined the group, Marce. Maybe next month’s challenge will be a little more on the healthy side.

  12. I have to ask – what is the decorative item on the top of your cake? It looks so cool!
    Welcome to the DB’s and looking forward to the next challenge with you!

  13. Marce,

    Congratulations on completing your first challenge as a Daring Baker! I think you did a great job and I completey understand your frustration with the recipe.

    I think your cake looks lovely!

  14. It did have a tad bit of butter!
    You did a great job with it though.

  15. Oh, your cake is divine. The decoration is to stunning. Fabulous!!

  16. You’re officially one of us now! Very nice job.

  17. Thanks for all the compliments and understanding the frustration, girls.

    The chocolate flower on top is actually made out of broken crepes I put together while they were still quite warm. I then warmed up the flower in the pan to “seal” it. I cut the “leaves” from other crepes and then sprinkled powdered sugar on top to have a greater contrast with the cake and for the shape to come through better.
    I´m glad you liked it… that idea literally saved my life and my fingers since I had no energy left to work with caramel to do the candied hazelnuts.

  18. I love the flower on top. And yes, this cake really did have an absurd amount of butter in it… I keep trying to convince myself that something that tastes so good has got to be healthy!

  19. To echo everyone else…beautiful flower! I am looking forward to trying my hand at crepes again soon, but nothing as involved as this.

  20. Yes, I think my mouth dropped at all that butter. You did an amazing job!

  21. Crepe mayhem–love that! And apparently a cuss test too. Good job!

  22. You did great! And I agree , let’s not have another Martha recipe.

  23. This is beautiful, Marce!
    And I’m in love with that flower, great choice to decorate the cake!

  24. Congratulations, it’s beautiful! I know I don’t have the patience for something like this so it’s a lot of fun to read about your adventures!

  25. Agree 100% about the butter. Have any of the DB’s actually sat down and done a nutritional analysis of this recipe? I think those numbers alone would give us as much of a heart attack as the cake would. 😉

  26. Another beautiful one and I love the decoration on the top. Great job.

  27. Your top is absolutely amazing…AMAZING! Wow!

  28. Pingback: Just one small caramel burn... a success story « Pip in the city

Leave a Reply

