Germans got it right

I have a shocking confession to make: I don´t like beer. In fact, not only do I not like it, I really can´t stand that bitterness.

But I never throw away things… well, I might ocassionally, but only if there´s no other possible solution. So when friends come over and leave leftover beer behind, I hate throwing it away, as in really hate it.

So when my friend Maite came over the other night and left behind almost a full bottle of beer, I just knew I had to do something about it… and that something couldn´t possibly be to drink it, or even give it to the dog so she´d drink it!… luckily inspiration hit me, which rarely happens, and I recalled having read about a German bread with beer in my bread cookbook… oh, yes, problem solved indeed.

German bread

What I wasn´t anticipating was finding such a lovely crumb thanks to my loathed beer. It has to be something to do with carbonization, not sure, but this dough is so damn tender I could eat it 4 times a day and be a happy camper.

The added sugar balances the bitterness of the beer and the crumb is oh so very moist (now if only my camera was able to do proper closeups).

German bread 2

The buns remind me of Heidi´s… anyone remember Heidi?… you know, the Swiss girl living on the mountains with her grandpa… somehow I remember the shape of the bread she ate in the cartoonish Japanese version… no, I´m not that old, I´m only 25, but my memory has a funny way of picking and choosing which ridiculous facts to remember, sort of like a weird food trivia game.

German bread 3

Anyway, if it´s any measure of this bread´s quality, I´ve made this recipe twice in the last 10 days. And  it took me like 2 hours from start to finish… not bad at all. And it´s really easy to make, so I´d recommend it to beginner bread-makers.

German bread 4

German bread (translated from 145 Recetas de panes y facturas by Marcelo Vallejo)

Fresh yeast, 20 grams (I used a tablespoon of dry yeast instead)

Water, lukewarm, 100cc

Lager beer, 200cc

Sugar, 60g

Powdered milk, 2 tablespoons

Butter, 60 grams

All purpose flour, 500 grams

Salt, 1/2 tablespoon

Melted butter, to paint the bread

Yields around 12 little breads.

1. Disolve the yeast in the lukewarm water. Add the beer (I try not to use it too cold so as not to slow down the rising of the bread), the sugar, the powdered milk, and the softened butter. Mix slightly.

2. Add the flour and the salt. Knead until you get a homogenous dough.

3. Form a ball of dough, cover with plastic wrap and let it rest for 20 minutes.

4. Divide the dough into 12 or more pieces and give them a slighly oval shape.

5. Place them on buttered pans and make two sharp cuts on top of each bread. Cover and let them double their size.

6. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F).

7. Cook the bread for around 20 minutes.

8. Pain the loaves with some melted butter as soon as you take them out of the oven. Enjoy!

This is my entry to this month´s Waiter, there´s something in my… bread, being hosted by Andrew of Spitoon Extra. 

18 Comments

Filed under bread, events, food

18 responses to “Germans got it right

  1. I am not a big beer drinker either, but those rolls do look scrumptious! Can’t wait to give that recipe a go.

  2. I will definitely make this! Thanks!

  3. It seems so odd when an ingredient we think we don’t like is the foundation for something we love. Your photos are really such gorgeous golden little loaves!

  4. That is something that I’ll never be able to bake – my husband would drink the beer before I even started to separate the ingredients.😉

    It looks delicious!

  5. Elle

    I remember Heidi and her goats, but I’ll bet her rolls were not as good as these. Beer is a great addition to bread.

  6. beer does lend something special to bread

    but i don’t think you’ve tried good beer… go for a Trappist Belgian Ale… brewed by monks using the same recipe for hundreds of years.

  7. Beer bread!!! That sounds soooooooooo good! I love your lil buns (as in bread!) they are adorable and totally droolworthy =)

    xoxo

  8. Hi Pip! I, too, loathe beer in it’s liquid form, but I’ve never made bread with it before – it actually sounds quite appealing!

  9. Maybe you are drinking the wrong kind of beer🙂
    Beer is always fanatistic in bread though.

  10. Gourmet peasant- Yeah, I think the bubbly side of beer helps develop a nice crumb and the malt in beer is something used quite often in bread-making.

    Ilva- Please let me know how it turns out if you make it. I´m sure your photographs will be much much better than mine! haha

    Tanna- Definitely and thanks for the compliments on the photos, they were taken at night, so they are not really great, but the buns themselves are the cutest thing ever.

    Patricia- Yeah, that could be a problem! But you could always buy a small can of beer and make the bread really fast!

    Elle- Good to see that someone remembers poor Heidi! haha And thanks😉

    Connie- I just don´t like the bitter nature of beers, and all beers are like that.

    Lisa- hahha I know what you meant by little buns, otherwise I would be suing you for phychological distress or something hahaha

    Gilly- Trust me, you won´t taste the beer itself, so I´m positive you´ll love these.

    Peabody- Maybe so, though I don´t think beer and me are supposed to get along haha

  11. Paul makes a great beer bread but it doesn’t have yeast in it but I love the gentle flavour of the beer in the bread. It’s great with butter and jam!

  12. jill

    When you cover the bread to let it double in size… do you use plastic wrap, or a cloth? I think I remember my mom using cloth to cover bread when I was little… but I’m not sure, and I’ve never made bread myself before. How long should it take to double in size?

    Thanks!!

  13. Jill- I usually use plastic wrap for the first rise while in the bowl because it´s easier to wrap the plastic around the bowl and then a cloth to cover the bread once it´s in the pan for the second rising, but it´s a matter of ease of application in my case, it might rise faster with plastic wrap because no air gets in so there´s a higher temperature in there.
    As for the time it takes to double, I think it took like 40 minutes in the case of this bread. Of course, it depends on the temperature in your particular kitchen at that time, but I´m sure it can´t take more than 1 hour- 1 hour and 20 minutes for the second rise, so this is definitely a bread that is on the quicker end of the scale.
    Let me know how it goes if you try it out! Good luck🙂

  14. ah… we’re on the same page here, i hate beer almost as much as beetroot! but to bake bread with it? i can see myself doing this!

  15. Sol

    Marce!! I finally got entangled in this fantastic recipy!! I couldn’t believe my eyes when what came out of the oven were delicious bread buns. And they were for real!!
    I hadn’t so much faith in me as a bread maker, but it seems that I’ve made my few steps in the race.
    As I told you, I didn’t use powdered milk; in fact, I didn’t use milk at all, and it was ok. But I think that what was different from the ones that you did was that the surface of my rolls was rough… mmmm…

  16. jill

    Marce, thank you so much! I made this the other day and it was fantastic (and I promptly emailed the recipe to another friend, who made it to bring to a BBQ). Can’t wait to make it again!!

  17. maha

    How much 100cc compeer to cup & what does cc mean????

  18. Pingback: Bread Recipes - Waiter There's Something In My... - Spittoon Extra

Leave a Reply

