no-fuss chocolate cake brought to you… in a coffee mug

Once I was flipping through the channels and I came across this weird looking guy on tv with a terrible, and I mean terrible, dubbed voice who was cooking some stuff with a little kid. I stopped for a moment, turned on the SAP on my tv and actually started enjoying the show after having gotten rid of that lame voice and being left with a fun Aussie accent. The show was called Bill´s food and the Aussie in question was Bill Granger.

Turns out he was cooking with his daughter and making some scrambled eggs or something like that. I kept watching for a while, I don´t know if it was a Sunday late in the afternoon so even scrambled eggs could hold my attention or I was genuinely interested, but I was rewarded by a discovery: a gorgeous looking chocolate self-saucing puddin. To you, it might not sound like much, but I have never heard of, let alone eat, a self-saucing puddin of any kind… so the mere thought of a moist cake with an underlying river of velvety chocolate sauce seemed like heaven.

Plus, the whole thing took literally 10 minutes tops to assemble and 15 minutes to bake, so it might even have a shot at replacing my beloved brownie recipe as a quick chocolate fix in those days of need every woman has experienced.

The first time I made it, I didn´t really have good unsweetened cocoa, so I went along with what I had and the result wasn´t very impressive… or photogenic.

take one

 My friends liked it, but for me it was drier than anticipated and it was lacking some sugar. So I waited till I could have good cocoa and another group of friends to torture with my experiments and gave it another shot. This time, I upped the superfine sugar by 2 tablespoons or so and added some chopped pecans and chocolate chunks to the mixed. I also checked at 15 minutes and took it out.

take 2

 This time, it hit the spot, moist and velvety contrasting with the crunch of the pecans and way richer thanks to the chocolate chunks, which were mostly melted by then. It´s definitely not the most photogenic cake ever, but it´s really easy to make and it satisfies chocolate craving to the letter. Plus, you can easily split it if you are just making it for 1 or 2 and you get to serve it in coffee mugs, so you don´t even need special equipment or anything.

Read the recipe after the jump.

take 2, shadow included

Chocolate self-saucing pudding (adapted from a recipe by Bill Granger found here)

125 g (1 cup) plain (all-purpose) flour

a pinch of salt

120 g (1/2 cup) + 2 tablespoons caster (superfine) sugar

1 teaspoons of cinnamon (you can skip it, but I added it to the recipe because I find it intensifies the chocolate flavor.)

3 teaspoons baking powder

4 tablespoons cocoa powder

250 ml (1 cup) milk 85 g (3 oz) unsalted butter, melted

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup of chopped pecans or walnuts

100 grams (around 3/4 cup) of semisweet chocolate chunks (I used a 60% chocolate)

Topping

185 g (1 cup) soft brown sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

250 ml (1 cup) boiling water

To serve

thick (double/heavy) cream

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F/Gas 4).

2. Sift the flour, salt, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and cocoa powder

into a bowl.

3. Add the milk, butter, egg and vanilla extract and mix with beaters until combined. Add the chopped pecans and the chocolate chunks.

4. Pour into four 250 ml (1 cup) greased pudding moulds.

5. To make the topping, stir the brown sugar and cocoa powder in a bowl to combine, then sprinkle it over the pudding batter.

6. Pour boiling water carefully over the puddings, then bake for 15-20 minutes (the original recipe said 20-25, the first time around, I baked it for 20 mins and it ended up without much sauce and a bit too dry, so the second time, I baked it for 15 minutes and it ended up perfectly moist and with tons of sauce underneath.)

Serve with thick cream.

Serves 4

8 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

8 responses to “no-fuss chocolate cake brought to you… in a coffee mug

  1. Oh my…chocolate overload! That looks good!

  2. That’s dangerous! It lets me make a chocolate dessert waaay too quickly!

  3. Oh My God. That looks amazing. I’m totally on a chocolate kick lately too (when is chocolate ever bad?)

    I tried making something similar to this out of a recipe from Real Simple a while back, though it didn’t work right. I’ll have to try this one, since it osunds like you had great success!

  4. OMG…that is so not going to be made any time soon in my house because of my weight loss goals. Unfortunately, weight loss and butter, don’t mix. And, the sugar doesn’t help either.😦

  5. Kristen- Thanks🙂

    Brilynn- Yeah, I know, it´s definitely dangerous, but sometimes it´s just what a girl needs, and as I always say “if you are gonna do it, you might as well do it properly”, which means I´d rather indulge with this instead of some grocery store cookies or something. Of course, maybe we shouldn´t indulge in the first place, but what would we blog about?😉

    Rachael- Yeah, you should definitely try it, with the nuts and extra chocolate chunks I added, otherwise it can be a bit bland.

    Jenifer (aka nutcase 101)- Yeah, I definitely know the feeling… what I try to do is schedule a treat from time to time (when I´m being good, lately, treats are happening a bit too often). And in this case, you have portion control because you won´t eat more than a cup.

  6. I agree.. that’s one dangerous dessert! THANK GOD I love to live dangerously. har! =)

  7. wow, what a great idea. single serve cake, with a handle! i love this!

  8. Lisa- That´s the attitude!!!😉

    Connie- Thanks (though of course, it´s not my idea haha).

Leave a Reply

