Oh brother where art thou?

It´s been almost three years since I last wrote, I know! It just sort of happened. And every time I thought about writing a goodbye post, it felt sort of weird because I thought that no one would really mind and because I wasn´t too sure I wanted to pull the plug officially on this little project of mine.

And I was right, I just didn´t know in what way or form cooking was going to be in my life, but now I do! I´m starting a baking project soon (I need to figure out the last few details before it´s live and I can show you the website and everything).

I´m gonna bake different things to order. Namely brownies, cookies, muffins, and cakes, here in Buenos Aires, of course, I really don´t trust international delivery that much!

And I´m also going to be arrogant enough to teach small cooking and baking classes because, even though I´m not a professional cook or baker, I keep getting requests from friends and acquaintances to teach them how to cook, and I´ve done some informal cooking classes, and I´ve really enjoyed them, so I´m gonna go ahead and teach the things I know as best as I can. The idea is for people to find joy in cooking and get a bit more comfortable around the kitchen.

And, using my translation skills, I´m gonna teach a few Argentine food classes for tourists and non tourists who want to learn the classic dishes, in English and/or Spanish depending on the group.

Ok, now that the big news are out of the way, I want to catch you up a bit on my life during these past few years!

In a nutshell, I fell in love with a wonderful guy with the sexiest Colombian accent and the sweetest curls, lost 30 pounds, and traveled to NYC and Seattle again, to Colombia last summer and probably again in a few months… ok, maybe the big news weren´t over!

cocinando

brooklyn bridge

a little piece of heaven

And one of the things I enjoy the most about the mornings with my love are long leisurely breakfasts with great conversations or just comfortable silences and a few mmmms when the food is particularly amazing.

yogurt pancakes

As it was a few weeks ago when he had brought me some great homemade yogurt from the farmers market and I was trying to find ways to use it up. Along came a great recipe for buttermilk pancakes from Beth Hensperger that I did with yogurt and adapted a bit, and served with dulce de leche and a bit of cream cheese (Argentine cream cheese isn´t salty, it´s more like a cream). I still think about that breakfast and swoon, I don´t know if it is because of the pancakes or Jorge, maybe a combination of both!

yogurt pancakes with dulce de leche

Yogurt pancakes

(adapted from the recipe for Old-fashioned buttermilk pancakes from The Bread Bible, by Beth Hensperger)

For 2-4, depending on the hunger level. This amount makes about 6 4-inch pancakes.

Ingredients:

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 tablespoon of sugar

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1 cup natural yogurt (no sugar or flavorings)

2 eggs

2 tablespoons of melted butter

Procedure:

1. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, put the lemon zest with the sugar, rub it together a little bit to release the lemon oils, and then add and whisk together the yogurt, eggs, and melted butter.

2. Pour the yogurt mixture into the dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened. Do not overmix; the batter will have small lumps. Gently fold in any additional ingredients at this time (like fresh or dry fruits, etc.)

3. Heat a griddle or heavy skillet over medium heat until a drop of water dances over the surface, and lightly grease it. Using a 1/4 cup measure for each pancake, pour the batter onto the griddle. Cook about 2 minutes, or until bubbles form on the surface, the edges are dry, and the bottoms are golden brown. Turn once, cooking the opposite sides for 1 minute or until golden. The second side will take half the time to cook as the first side.

4. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200°F oven until ready to serve.

7 Comments

Filed under food, rambling, sweet, This and that, travel

7 responses to “Oh brother where art thou?

  1. So nice to see you here again! I can’t wait to try these yummy pancakes :))

  2. How nice to see you writing again after such a long absence! It sounds like you’ve got a lot of exciting projects going on in your life—hooray for that. :) I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve got up your sleeve. ¡Un beso desde Necochea!

  3. Ana

    Wow! Happy to see around again! And very glad to see you’re so happy now as well! :)

  4. Jenny – Yes, I finally did it!

    Katie – Thank you for the support! You´ve been tempting me to write whenever I read your food posts.

    Ana – Thank you! And yes, I´m in a really good place right now.

  5. Well now ain’t that just a WOW!
    Life just does some wild and wonderful turns and you have to be ready to take it on it … life in all it’s wackiness.

  6. Sol

    I keep reading u, my friend! Cheers!

  7. welcome back! I hope your online store is in the states, so that we can partake. Congratulations on the love and the biz :).

    Cheers –

Leave a Reply

