Wobbly

I rarely use condensed milk. Don´t get me wrong, I love it, especially laying in a Brazilian beach and having it with a tropical fruit salad inside a pineapple… I need a vacation ASAP!

condensed milk flan

But anyway, I just don´t see recipes using it and when I do, they seem a bit too sweet, and as you must know by now, I don´t mind a bit of sugar at all, but sometimes it can be too much, like here in Argentina when they basically use dulce de leche as THE ingredient in a dessert, it can get so sweet that my teeth basically start screaming.

And that can be the case with desserts using condensed milk, but when I saw this flan recipe, I knew it was just a matter of time before I tried it. And while it was sweet, in fact, quite sweet, it was still delicious. I used a vanilla bean inside the flan to flavor it and served it with unsweetened whipped cream with a bit of lemon zest.

condensed milk flan

condensed milk flan

Also, it´s a cinch to make and can be made a day in advance and kept in the fridge, unmolding it just before serving.

condensed milk flan

Condensed milk flan (adapted from the recipe Cris posted in her blog)

Custard

1 can sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated milk) – (usually 400grams)
1 can regular milk (use the can to measure)
3 eggs
1 teaspoon cornstarch (optional)

1 vanilla bean (optional)

Caramel
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water

1) Add 1 inch (2.5 cm) of water in a roasting pan. Place the pan in the oven and preheat to 350F degrees (about 180 C) to boil.

2) In a ring mold (approx. 7.5 in (20 cm) round):

Add 1 cup sugar and place the mold directly over medium heat. Hold the mold with an oven mitt and keep turning it until the sugar melts into a golden brown caramel. Add 1/4 cup water, boil for about five minutes. Let the mold cool.

3) In a blender:

Mix condensed milk, regular milk, corn starch, vanilla bean or extract (if using), and eggs. Whip until smooth. Pour this mixture into the mold and place it in the center of the roasting pan with boiling water. Bake the flan for 45 minutes. It will turn golden brown on top and start separating from the sides of the mold. Let it cool to room temperature and place in refrigerator, at least 4 hours or overnight.

Just before serving, warm up the mold on medium heat for a few seconds and run the tip of a knife around the inside of the mold. Place a deep platter over the mold and invert: the flan should slide out easily. Spoon the caramel sauce on top and serve.

10 Comments

Filed under food, sweet

10 responses to “Wobbly

  1. deb

    Gorgeous! As you know, I have mad flan envy. But reading about all these other successful recipes convinces me that I must have had a one-off experience, and will try it again soon. Or, I could just go to Argentina and try to steal some of yours. Hmm…

  2. Marce: Beautiful! Sometimes you just have to go with it and give in! Great balance here using unsweetened with lemon whip cream!

  3. This looks beautiful and delicious!! I’ve never made flan before, but have been wanting to for quite some time!

  4. I haven’t seen flan since my 10th grade French class. What a blast from the past. This looks so good. I too don’t see many recipes with condensed milk in them. Maybe that is why my can in my cabinet has dust on it.

    Well done.

  5. connie

    mmm! that is some good looking dessert

  6. Lovely site you have here Pip. The caramel on the flan just made me swoon. :)

    (and I’m not even a big fan of flan)

  7. Deb- Yeah, I don´t know what happened with that flan of yours, but you need to make some again since for me, the hardest part of flan making is getting the caramel right, the flan always sets, so your next flan is going to be gorgeous. As for coming to Argentina to steal mine, you have a free-standing invitation to do so whenever you please :)

    Tanna- Thanks! This definitely needed an unsweetened balance and the lemon zest not to be too sweet.

    Deborah- Go for it! Regular flan (without condensed milk) goes great with dulce de leche… mmm in fact, you just inspired a future post.

    Cheryl- Yeah, I never buy condensed milk unless I have a particular plan already, otherwise it just sits in the pantry mocking me.

    Connie- Well, thanks, good to see you are still roaming around the blogosphere!

    Doug- Thanks for commenting and that´s a great compliment then coming from someone skeptical about flan.

  8. I’m so glad you liked this recipe, Marce – lots of our sweets are made with sweetened condensed milk, it’s really sweet but we love it!

  9. Wow, this looks delicious! I love flans!

  10. Hi!!! So glad you like it! Come on over to visit our beaches, Summer is just around the corner! This happens to be one of my favorite recipes… with so many wonderful memories!

Leave a Reply

